Wayne State University

Aim Higher

Community Partners

CommunityEngagement@Wayne would not exist if it weren’t for the many community organizations that work with us to provide our students with volunteer and experiential learning opportunities. In order to become a community partner, organizations must have the following:

  • Liability insurance that covers volunteers
  • Specific opportunities available for students
  • On-site supervisor

If interested in becoming a community partner with the Office of CommunityEngagement@Wayne please call 313-577-0189 to schedule a meeting.

________________________________________________________________________

The Office of CommunityEngagement@Wayne has built many relationships with organizations throughout the metropolitan Detroit area. These relationships have led to volunteer opportunities for our students. Our community partners with contact information are listed below. Please give them a call and get to working in the community! If you are looking for upcoming events from these organizations, check our volunteer opportunities page.

 

826michigan

Brandon Pierce, Program Coordinator

115 E. Liberty St.

Ann Arbor, MI 48104

(734) 761-3463

(313) 310-7555

www.826michigan.org

 

AmeriCorps Urban Safety Project

Amanda Gantchev, Volunteer Coordinator

5700 Cass, 2207 A/AB

Detroit, MI 48202

(947)-517-7410

amus.amanda@gmail.com

http://www.amusdetroit.org

 

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Metropolitan Detroit

Nancy A. Maier, Chief Development Officer

7700 Second Avenue

Suite 602

Detroit, MI 48202

(313)-309-9222

Nancy.Maier@bbbsdetroit.org

www.bbbsdetroit.org

 

Detroit Public Library

Barbara Cohn, Director of Tour Program

5201 Woodward Avenue

Detroit, MI 48202

(313)-481-1300

pmerritt@detroitpubliclibrary.org

http://www.detroit.lib.mi.us

 

Earthworks Urban Farm - Capuchin Soup Kitchen

Shane Bernardo, Outreach Coordinator

1264 Meldrum

Detroit, MI 48207

(313)-579-2100  extension 204

sbernardo@cskdetroit.org

www.earthworksdetroit.org

 

Forgotten Harvest

Marci Fitch, Volunteer Manager

21800 Greenfield Road

Oak Park, MI 48237

248.967.1500 x 125

http://www.forgottenharvest.org

 

Harris Literacy Program

Naimah Wade, Program Manager

Harris Literacy Program

5155 Gullen Mall

Suite 2528 Undergraduate Library

Wayne State University

Detroit, MI 48202

(313) 577-0171

Naimah.wade@wayne.edu

WEB PAGE IS FORTHCOMING

 

Matrix Human Services

Linda L. Garrison, Volunteer Coordinator

120 Parsons Street

Detroit, MI 48201

(313)-831-1000 extension - 1136

lgarrison@matrixhs.org

www.matrixhumanservices.org

 

Project Healthy Community

Karen Rubenfire Sherbin, Program Coordinator

Northwest Activities Center

18100 Meyers Rd

Detroit, MI 48235

(248)-892-4585

krsherbin@projecthealthycommunity.org

www.projecthealthycommunity.org

 

Teen HYPE

Kristinia Pye, Outreach Engagement Officer

453 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.

Detroit, MI 48201

(313)-831-8336

kristinia.pye@teenhype.org

 

The Greening of Detroit

Julia Sartor, Volunteer Manager

1418 Michigan Avenue

Detroit, MI 48216

(313)-285-1254

julia@greeningofdetroit.com

www.greeningofdetroit.com

 

The Luella Hannan Memorial Foundation

Pam Halladay, Volunteer Coordinator

4750 Woodward Avenue

Detroit, MI 48201

(313)-318-6304

phalladay@hannan.org

http://www.hannan.org

 

The Parade Company

Renee Rodriguez, Director of Volunteer & Tour Services

9500 Mt. Elliott, Studio A

Detroit, MI 48211

(313)-923-8368

volunteers@theparade.org


VIP Mentoring

Roger Waldon, Match Specialist

Pamela Smith, Match Specialist

PO BOX 24468

Detroit, MI 48224

313-964-1110

psmith@vipmentoring.org

rwaldon@vipmentoring.org